

Issue #6 Conservation Districts (CDs)

Information current as of: August 2005

Summary and Current Status:

Established under the authority of the Manitoba Conservation Districts Act, Conservation Districts (CDs) are groups of neighbouring rural municipalities (RMs) working in a partnership with the Province of Manitoba to develop programs to effectively manage the natural resources of their area. Conservation District boundaries may vary, but are usually based on the drainage basin or the watershed of the major river in the area – hence the regular involvement of more than one RM in any given CD.

Currently, there are 16 Conservation Districts (CDs) in Manitoba that cover over 60% of Agro-Manitoba.

Manitoba Conservation Districts

Alonsa
Cooks Creek
Intermountain
Kelsey
La Salle-Redboine
Lake of the Prairies
Little Saskatchewan River
Mid-Assiniboine River
Pembina Valley
Seine-Rat River
Tiger Hill
Turtle Mountain
Turtle River Watershed
Upper Assiniboine River
West Souris River

Whitemud Watershed

Elements:

The goal of Manitoba CDs is to manage the District's resources for the benefit of its citizens today, while ensuring that generations that follow will have the same resource management options that are currently enjoyed.

CDs are a partnership between the Province of Manitoba and the participating Municipalities. The CD acts as a 'conservation program broker', providing an administrative structure that may be used to deliver a variety of conservation programs.

One of the strengths of the CD program is the fact that it empowers local people – those who know the area well – to set priorities, make decisions, and deliver the programs.

Some of the projects undertaken by CDs include:

- water management
- small dams
- drainage
- soil conservation
- gully stabilization

- wildlife habitat
- shelterbelts
- erosion control
- forestry
- fish habitat

Manitoba Water Issues

Manitoba Wildlands – August 2005

- eco-tourism
- water quality
- education

- nature trails
- demonstrations
- riparian projects

Management

CDs are divided into sub-districts along watershed boundaries and each of the RMs within a sub-district appoints members to the sub-district board. The CD Board is then comprised of the Chairpersons of all of the sub-districts, as well as a Provincial Appointee.

The CD Boards and staff develop Integrated Resource Management Plans (IRMPs) for their area, in consultation with local ratepayers and provincial government partners.

Funding

Resources to operate CD are acquired from member RMs through a levy, and the Government of Manitoba contributes up to 3x the amount of the raised levy.

Key Publication(s) & Links:

- Manitoba Water Stewardship Conservation Districts http://www.gov.mb.ca/waterstewardship/mwsb/cd/
- Manitoba Conservation Districts Association http://www.mcda.ca
- Maps of Manitoba Conservation Districts
 - o http://www.gov.mb.ca/waterstewardship/mwsb/cd/cd map 2004-12-20.pdf
 - http://www.mcda.ca/images/2002%20CD%20Map.pdf
- The Manitoba Conservation Districts Act http://web2.gov.mb.ca/laws/statutes/ccsm/c175e.php

For further information, contact:

The Manitoba Conservation Districts Association Box 148

Miami, Manitoba R0G 1H0

Ph: (204) 435-2484 E-mail: mcda@mts.net

Conservation Districts Program Secretariat - Planning & Coordination Branch (Government of Manitoba)

Box 38

Gladstone, Manitoba R0J 0T0

Ph: (204) 385-6622 Fax: (204) 385-6625

E-mail: whildebran@gov.mb.ca